You are here : Government  >  Council
The City of Grosse Pointe government operates under the Council-Manager form of government, in which an elected council, consisting of the Mayor and six members of the Council, oversee City policies. The Council selects a professional manager to oversee the day-to-day operation of governmental services and programs and who implements the policies of the Council.

The Mayor serves a two-year term and half of the Council is elected on a staggered cycle for four-year terms (see below).

To share your thoughts with the elected officials on City Council on an agenda item or regarding a City policy matter, you may send a letter to City Hall addressed to the Mayor and City Council at 17147 Maumee or send an email to council@grossepointecity.org.

City of Grosse Pointe Council Members are not compensated for their services to the community.

Public meetings of the City Council of the City of Grosse Pointe are held generally the third Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers, 17147 Maumee Avenue, Grosse Pointe, MI 48230.  Please see our event calendar for specific meeting dates.


Christopher Boettcher



City Council
Donald Parthum Jr.
John Stempfle
Andrew Turnbull
Chris D. Walsh Sheila Tomkowiak Daniel J. Williams

Term expires in November of 2019

Donald J. Parthum Jr.
John Stempfle
Andrew Turnbull  

Term expires in November of 2021

Sheila Tomkowiak 
Chris D. Walsh 
Daniel J. Williams


Mayoral term is for 2 years - Current term expires in 2019

Mayor Christopher Boettcher