You are here : Government  >  Boards & Commissions
Boards & Commissions

Parks and Harbor Advisory Committee

The Parks and Harbor Advisory Committee was established to consider, inform and suggest to City Council possible ideas regarding parks and recreation facilities and programs.

Members are Dr. Bill Quinlan, Chairperson, Dr. Bill Brownscombe, Tony Smihal, Thomas Enders, George Duffield and Council Representatives John Stempfle and Sheila Tomkowiak.

Beautification Commission

2018 Beautification Awards Winners Photos           2018 Beautification Awards Winners List

The City of Grosse Pointe Beautification Commission was established in 1990 and was re-established by resolution in 2003.  The Grosse Pointe Beautification Commission's purpose and goal is to plant flowers, maintain planting beds, and recommend appropriate plant materials for planting areas on City property and right-of-ways.  Also, the Beautification Commission will select and present the yearly awards for beautification of private and commercial property, and may be called upon to make recommendations to the City Council regarding landscape design within the City of Grosse Pointe.

Project Bloom is also part of the Beautification Commission.  This sponsor a garden project runs as an all volunteer group who plant flowers and maintain planting areas at Neff Park and in The Village.  Project Bloom is always looking for volunteers to join in their mission to keep the City looking gorgeous.  

Beautification Award Winners are announced in September. The Awards Ceremony is set for early October.

Members are Susan Hartz, Co-Chairperson, Susan Budrys, Co-Chairperson, Mary Carey, Regina Gersch, Kathy Long, Jeff Petersen, Mary Scrace, and Derek Stratelak.

Urban Forestry Commission  January 29, 2019 Agenda

The goal of this new citizen advisory body is to enhance the management of the City's trees on the right of way and on City owned property.

Members are Rick Whitney Chairperson, , Sheila Tomkowiak City Council Liaison, Derek Stratelak City Beautification Commission Liaison, Alaine Bush, Dave Draper, Larry Saylor, Pete Dame, Jeffrey Swantek, and Brian Colter (City Forester).

City of Grosse Pointe Foundation - Click here for more information.

Employees Retirement System - Board of Trustees

The Grosse Pointe Employee Retirement System is a defined benefit pension plan created and maintained pursuant to Part B, Section 64-105 of the Charter of the City of Grosse Pointe, amended in 1994; now Section 56, Article II, Grosse Pointe Code of Ordinances.

Board of Trustees are Michael Bernard, Chair (citizen member), Council Representatives Andrew Turnbull and Christopher Walsh, John Alcorn (public safety member representative), Brian Kress (general member representative), Kimberly Kleinow, Finance Director and System Administrator for the Board, and Julie Arthurs, City Clerk and Secretary to the Board.

Election Commission

The Election Commission shall appoint an election inspector board and designate a chairman in each precinct for every election conducted in the City. The City Clerk shall have charge of all other activities and duties relating to the conduct of elections in the City.

Members are the City Treasurer, City Attorney and City Clerk.