The City of Grosse Pointe government operates under the Council-Manager form of government, in which an elected council, consisting of the Mayor and six members of the Council, oversee City policies. The Council selects a professional manager to oversee the day-to-day operation of governmental services and programs and who implements the policies of the Council.

The Mayor serves a two-year term and half of the Council is elected on a staggered cycle for four-year terms (see below).

Contact the Council - To share your thoughts with the elected officials on City Council on an agenda item or regarding a City policy matter, you may send a letter to City Hall addressed to the Mayor and City Council at 17147 Maumee Avenue, Grosse Pointe, MI 48230; or send an email to

City of Grosse Pointe Council Members are not compensated for their services to the community.

Public meetings of the City Council of the City of Grosse Pointe are held generally the third Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers, 17145 Maumee Avenue, Grosse Pointe, MI 48230.  Please see our event calendar for specific meeting dates.    

            GPC Tomkowiak sheila  9145 website
                  Sheila Tomkowiak

Parthum Donald  GPC Thomas Terence 2019 website (002)  GPC Krupp Seth 2022 website
Donald J. Parthum Jr.  Terence A. Thomas  Seth Krupp 
Walsh Christopher  GPC Juip Maureen 2021 website - Copy Fries David
Chris D. Walsh  Maureen Juip David Fries

Mayoral term is for 2 years - Current term expires in 2023
Mayor Sheila Tomkowiak

Council terms are for 4 years
Term expires in November of 2023

Donald J. Parthum Jr.
Terence A. Thomas
Seth Krupp  (appointed to fill vacancy until 11/2023)

Term expires in November of 2025
Chris D. Walsh  
Maureen Juip
David Fries